The game of Baseball was introduced to the country in mid eighties. Former Minister Hon. Festus Perera was instrumental in getting US Embassy to introduce the game to Sri Lanka. Ms. Lee Ann Ross, a dynamic lady from US Embassy took the task upon her to put-up the foundation for Baseball to be established in Sri Lanka. American Baseball coach Jim Dimick was the first official coach to teach the game to the players. They formed four teams to learn the game and they were the Sri Lanka Air force, Shakthi Baseball Club,Gold Fish Baseball Club and Royal College. At the beginning the staff of the US Embassy played friendly Baseball Games with the local teams at Havelock Park, Colombo.

First ever Baseball tournament was played in 1985 and during the period of 27 years, Sri Lanka achieved many milestones. During the early period, US Baseball players of famous US war ship KITI HAWK played 02 games with the local teams at Army Grounds, Colombo.

Sri Lanka, being a new comer to the game, managed to secure a position to compete in the first ever Asian Baseball Cup, which was held in Philippines in 1995.

Main regions are Colombo, Kandy and Galle.
There are around 25 affiliated clubs inclusive of 6 universities.
Around 30 schools are playing Baseball.


- Won the Silver Medal at inaugural 'SAARC' Baseball Cup held in Pakistan 2011.
- Won silver medal at West Asia Cup held in Pakistan in 2012.
- Won the Bronze medal 1st time in the history at 8th Asian Baseball Cup 2009 held in Thailand.
- Our under 18 team ranked No.5 in the 9th 'AAA' Championship (Youth Asian Baseball Championship)held Korea in 2011(Japan,Korea,Chinese Taipei and Philippine ahead of us). They won the "Best Hard Working Team" title in this Championship and the team consists of many potential baseball players who could bring credit to the country.
- Mr. D L P Maduranga has been adjudged the Most Outstanding player of the 8th 'AAA' Championship (Youth Asian Baseball Championship) held in Korea



Mr.Fazil Hussain

Vice President

Mr.Mayantha Dissanayake

Vice President

Major General Upul Vithanage


Mr.Rajith Ratnayake


Mr.Pubudu Kodikara


Mr.Manoj Fernando

Asst Secretary

Mr.Dinesh Perera

Chairman –Senior League

Mr.Heshan Premaratne

BFA Members